Team-Based Tournament Join Flow

Once you’ve found which tournament you would like to join, here are the steps to take to register yourself for the event.

Bruno Meireles avatar
Written by Bruno Meireles
Updated over a week ago

In the majority of tournaments, you will simply need to select the Join as a Team button in the Player Guide on the right (click the Join button on Mobile) to begin your tournament registration.


The first step will be to review the Critical Rules that the organizer has for your event. You will need to check the box that states that you have read and agree to all the rules. This ensures that all players have the opportunity to understand what is expected of them during the event.


The second step will be to either create a new team for this event or select a new team in case you already have a Team created for this specific Game the tournament will be run with.



Creating a New Team



Select the Create a New Team button and fill in the information requested. That information is used to display basic information about your team on tournament pages.

Once done, click the Confirm Team button.
The join flow will now take you back to the tournament page where you will be filling in specific information requested by the tournament organizer. (If you already have a team, selecting the team will take you directly to this step.

The next step will be to enter your registration information. In all games, you’ll be asked to enter your In-Game Name. This is the name that is shown in-game when sending friend invites or on the score screen that you would take a picture of for proof. It’s important that this is accurate because your opponents will see this information in order to contact you to play your matches.

You may also see other fields that are requested by the organizer such as Discord name, Email address, Postal Codes, Real Name, etc. Please note that this information is only visible to the organizer owner and its admins when the word private is shown at the end of the input box as seen below. If it does not say Private on that field, then the information is visible to your opponents as well as the organizer’s admins and moderators. Battlefy does not control what information an organizer may collect and does not control what an organizer may do with the information you provide them here. If you do not feel comfortable filling in a specific field, then you should reach out to the organizer to find out why they need that information or what you can enter in place of the real info so that they do not remove you from the event. If you find an organizer that is collecting personal info in a field that is not private and/or dangerous to collect (such as Social Security Numbers, Phone Numbers, Street Addresses) please contact us immediately at support@battlefy.com


Inviting Teammates

If you just created a team, or don't have enough players on the team, you will be prompted to invite more member in order to complete. That can be done through a simple link that will be given during the Join Flow.

Players will be part of your team simply by using the link and filling their player information.



By clicking Done, you will be redirected back to the tournament Main Page.

If you already have a complete team, your Join Flow will be done, but if you're still building your team you will still need to have your teammates join before properly finishing your Join Flow.

On the right side of the Tournament Page, you will see 2 very important instructions. Those show how many players you need in order to participate and there's also the Auto-Join option, which will automatically finish your join flow once you have enough players in the team.


Managing your Roster

When joining as a team with more members than what the tournament permits, you will be able, in most cases, to manage your roster for that event. You can manage your roster by using the Roster tab before tournament check-in/start.


Tournament Rosters are very important and most organizers will only consider your active Roster as your team, so if you have a team with several more members than what the tournament allows you to have, please make sure to update your roster accordingly to show the members that will participate.



That’s it! Your team is now registered for the event. If it has a check-in, then you will see in the Player Guide when the check-in starts. The Check-in button will turn red when it’s time to check in. Organizers usually have 30 to 60 minutes before the event to have players check in so that they know who has actually shown up for the event. In this case, only players who check in will be able to play in the event so it is extremely important that you show up to do this step before the tournament start time which is also shown as a timer on the Player Guide.

If there were additional registration fields to enter and you need to update that information, then you can select the Edit Registration Fields button to update that information until the start time of the tournament. Once the event has begun, you will not be able to change that information. If you need to update your In-Game Name, then you will need to Unjoin the tournament and re-register for the event or reach out to the organizer directly to see if they will update it for you.

Did this answer your question?